PDA

View Full Version : buying a car

happylalapo
23rd March 2009, 01:03 AM
Have been thinking of buying a car ..... any great idea anyone, with budget of $45k, should I buy a new car or a second hand car?

How about financing, should i go for financing - is it a good idea to take some or forget about it and pay cash for the car and save your self from having the car loan????

hazel
23rd March 2009, 09:55 AM
well happylalapo,

i'm a driver myself. i did not ask myself questions when i bought my first car and i was slap with difficulties of financing it.

1. why do you need a car, is it for convenience or necessity?
2. when i bought my 3rd car, i was really questioning myself, do i really need a car? the reason so is because the public transport system in singapore is rather advance though i can't deny it's expensive. moreover, being a woman, i find that often we have the priviledge of being chauffeur around by male friends.
3. since you have cash to pay in full, why not, it really save you the hassel of worrying the financing. however, based on my understanding, if you are not taking loan, you will lose out certain negotiation power with the car agent, but to me that is not really important.
4. frankly speaking, though i think my driving skills are rather ok (been driving for 8 year now) but somehow, i still can't help but worry the car break down on the road. this has happen to me many times but it can be rather scary (depending on the problem of your car). are you someone who will freak out in things like this?

above are just some of my personal thoughts.

slow learner
23rd March 2009, 08:58 PM
i will rather not buy a car, unless you are in a sales job that requires to travel around.

Why not consider renting a car?

happylalapo
23rd March 2009, 09:10 PM
Hey, thanks Hazel.

My friend ask me to get a Kia, it is cheap car.

I am pretty terrible I want cheap, good and big.... ha! Ha!